Guild

The Guild of St Michael, Blundellsands


St Michael’s Guild is a social group open to everybody. We meet in the Church Hall at 8 pm on the first and third Tuesdays of the month from October to May.

Everyone is welcome to hear our interesting talks for about an hour.  These are usually illustrated, on a wide range of subjects followed by tea/coffee and biscuits for those who wish to stay longer.  We also enjoy an annual lunch, a Christmas Celebration with visiting choir and seasonal refreshments and a summer outing.

Just turn up on the night. The cost is £2 per meeting including refreshments, and the subscription for the year £10. For further information contact Joan Hollinghurst on 924 7889, or by writing to hhollinghurst@btinternet.com

 

Everyone is welcome at the Guild of St Michael

             

Tues 2 Oct      Behind the Scenes at the theatre and television - Fiona Martin

Tues 16 Oct    Iceland and Greenland - Captain Derrick Kemp

Sun 21 Oct     Guild Service 10.30  How big is your universe? - Revd Neil Short

Tues 6 Nov     Royal Progresses: Court and Country Houses - Roger Mitchell                           

Tues 20 Nov   The Pugin Heritage in the Merseyside Area - John Tiernan                              

Thurs 29 Nov  Christmas Lunch at the West Lancashire Golf  Club, 12.30 for 1pm

Tues 4 Dec      Christmas Celebration with refreshments - Sefton Ladies Choir

Tues 15 Jan     Liverpool’s Rise to Maritime Glory - Ken Pye

Tues 5 Feb      Nelson and Trafalgar - Derek Arnold           

Tues 19 Feb    Those Men in their Horseless Wagons (Liverpool 1898-1901) - Tom Preston

Tues 5 Mar      Liverpool People who deserve more recognition - David Hearn                                                              

Tues 19 Mar    Southport’s History in Postcards - Hugh Hollinghurst

Thurs 21 Mar  HMS Pinafore and Trial by Jury at Southport Little Theatre 7.30              

Tues 2 Apr      Little Red Boxes (postal history) - Elaine Allen

Tues 16  Apr   Dickens in Liverpool - Dianne Cox

Tues 7 May    AGM and Motor Bikes to the Rescue by Night - Nigel Pickin                           

Tues 21 May  Summer Outing to Arley Hall, Cheshire Coach leaves at 10.00

If you wish to go to HMS Pinafore and Trial by Jury (Crosby G & S) from 20th to 23rd March separately from the Guild party, tickets may be obtained from Margaret, 88 Moor Drive, Crosby, L23 2US Phone 924 5977 or from the Southport Little Theatre 01704 530 521.